The Secret Garden

Once again, in complete subconscious, I dress utterly under the influence of my 8 year old self. I’m innocently sitting in Landscape class, feeling all grown up and womanly, and I look down and realise that once again she has struck and dressed me without my realising. Today is, with no shading of a doubt, inspired by my very long, doubious and fervent commitment to the film The Secret Garden. To say I was obsessive doesn’t quite cover it. I was a slight victorian enthusiast as a child (less enthused since I grew up and learnt the meaning of feminism) sparked but not souly ignited also by my love of The Railway Children, Jacqueline Wilson’s The Lottie Project and a little known but truely awe-inspiring children’s book called Lady Daisy. I even had a porcelain doll that looked just like Kate Maberly’s character Mary, who to this day hasn’t left my possession. Actually come to think of it, that MIGHT have been some of the cause of the fringe calamity…

Anyway, back to the clothes. So I love the juxtaposition in The Secret Garden between India and Victorian Britain  – it was such a rich contrast and the styles kind of lend themselves to each other – the finery and intricate detail, etc? Anyway for some reason I just couldn’t leave out this scarf from the mix this morning and now I know why – its that little injection of imperialness into my little Indian indulgence.

Oh gosh my post-colonial lecture revision really IS seeping into all of my life…

yes, I am wearing a Sari.

actually I’ve quite convinced myself after going round all day calling it a sari that its infact not a sari but another technically named type of Indian clothing… if anyone knows, please tell me, I’ve been trawling the internet trying to find out I’d love to know!

The ‘sari’ (I’ll have to settle for that as it’s working title) is from a charity shop. I’m terrified of the potentially possible mini film clip racing around in my head when I’m wearing it in town  – in which a little old indian woman from Aber advances on me demanding why I am wearing her sari without any bottoms and a proceeding rant about the crude culture and  indecency of the white girl….

The belt, I think I have featured before – it is one of my dad’s (and I’ve no learnt my grandad’s before him) scouting belt – good to know my waist is still the size of a small boys lower hips. fab. The victorian-y scarf is from H&M a world ago. the shiney glittery bracelet is from my friend Bev :) and the sandals are yesterday’s new Clarke’s ones.

Anyway, I’m going to leave you to get on with your evenings now, but for anyone who’s still hanging on and has got to this part, I’m going to post some other stills I found of The Secret Garden, purely for my own indulgence and for anyone else out there that is in love with this movie just as much as me…

Maggie Smith, you absolute legend.

thankyou hattie for again taking such nice pictures

1 Comment

Filed under Charity Shop, Themed Outfits, What Kathy Wore

One response to “The Secret Garden

  1. Oh Kathy it’s absolutely beautiful!! I think my favourite post ever! Oh, I’d forgotten about that amazing red bobble hat…. I wish I was an Victorian schoolgirl. All the pinafores and duffel coats and bobble hats and satchels and mary janes and long socks….. *sighs*

Leave a Reply

